Social Work

At the Nemours/Alfred I. duPont Hospital for Children, we believe that beyond quality medical care, successful health care relies on recognizing the impact an illness can have on your family, communicating effectively with your health care team, and taking advantage of available services. Our multi-disciplinary team helps you with all of this — and more.

How We Can Help

Social workers provide compassionate, professional, and culturally-sensitive assistance to help children and families cope with illness, injury, and disability. We help you deal with your child’s course of care and help defuse your family’s stress as much as possible. It’s our job to anticipate your every need and provide your family with emotional support, counseling, and resource assistance during your stay — and beyond.

Services We Provide

In addition to offering emotional support, our social workers can help coordinate the health care your child receives to make it as easy as possible for you. We can also help facilitate improvements your child might need at school or at home, solve and cope with problems in their everyday lives, and generally make things easier and less scary or overwhelming — especially for families of kids with chronic and/or serious illnesses.

 
Case Management

Providing ongoing needs assessment, service coordination, information and referrals, consultation regarding custody and consent issues, and transition to adult care for kids with chronic conditions and complex illnesses.

 
Discharge Planning

Coordinating your child’s home health care and home equipment needs, providing referrals/placement in residential facilities, coordinating ambulance transportation and Medicaid transportation providers, referrals to and coordination with community services, and assisting with school services.

 
Crisis Intervention

Helping your family cope with trauma, death, or a life-threatening/serious diagnosis by orienting you with the hospital and our services, mobilizing your support system, and providing end-of-life assistance. In cases of child abuse or domestic violence, we can help coordinate safe discharge with outside agencies.

 
Counseling & Support

Helping your family cope with trauma, death, or a life-threatening/serious diagnosis by orienting you with the hospital and our services, mobilizing your support system, and providing end-of-life assistance. In cases of child abuse or domestic violence, we can help coordinate safe discharge with outside agencies.

 
Community Liaison Services

Helping your family secure emergency assistance, identify state and federal programs, and access nonprofit services as needed.

 
Community Advocacy

Coordinating services with community agencies, schools, and insurance companies, serving as board members of local
non-profit organizations, and impacting government policies and public awareness about pediatric health care issues. Our social workers also inform children and families of their health care rights and responsibilities.

 
Support Groups

Establishing and assisting onsite support groups for parents
and youth.

Our Social Work Team

Our social workers will do whatever it takes to improve the emotional well-being of your child and your family. We’re specially trained to assess the overall psychosocial functioning of patients and families — and we’re assigned to specific areas of medicine and specific children, so we’re familiar with what you’re going through.

Dale Perkel, LCSW

Director, Patient & Family Services
(302) 651-4238
dperkel@nemours.org

Dora Temple, LCSW

Organ Donor Advocate
(302) 651-4837
dtemple@nemours.org

Alethea (Lisa) Thomas

Secretary
(302) 651-4230 or (302) 651-4232
lthomas@nemours.org

Evenings and Weekends

Ray Hendricks, MSW

(302) 651-4558
rhendric@nemours.org

Robin Taylor, MSW

(302) 651-4558
rtaylor@nemours.org


By Department

 
Blood and Bone Marrow Transplant (BBMT)
Claudia Van Lenten, LCSW

(302) 651-4550
cvanlent@nemours.org

3CN
Laura Knapp

(302) 651-4550
laknapp@nemours.org

Elizabeth Wood, LCSW

(302) 651-4553
ewood@nemours.org

 
Cerebral Palsy
Valerie Aptt, LCSW

(302) 651-4503
vaptt@nemours.org

 
Child Abuse
Jennifer Macaulay, MSW

(302) 651-4255
jmacaula@nemours.org

 
Cleft Palate
Jenifer Keller, MSW

(302) 651-5043
jkeller@nemours.org

 
Cochlear Implants
Beverly Shreve, MSW

(302) 651-4823
bshreve@nemours.org

 
Cystic Fibrosis
Kim York, LCSW

(302) 651-4558
kyork@nemours.org

 
Down Syndrome Clinic
Alexa Ujlaky, MSW

(302) 298-7075
aujlaky@nemours.org

 
Developmental Delay Medicine
Alexa Ujlaky, MSW

(302) 298-7075
aujlaky@nemours.org

 
Dialysis
Nancy Gaddis, LCSW

(302) 651-4563
ngaddis@nemours.org

 
Early Childhood Development Team
Jennifer Fenstermacher, LCSW

(302) 651-4236
jfenster@nemours.org

 
Emergency
Jennifer Macaulay, MSW

(302) 651-4255
jmacaula@nemours.org

 
End Stage Renal Disease
Nancy Gaddis, LCSW

(302) 651-4563
ngaddis@nemours.org

 
Endocrinology
Mike Goldsmith, LCSW

(302) 651-4556
mgoldsmi@nemours.org

 
Gastroenterology
Jessalyn Lewis, LSW

(302) 651-4233
jelewis@nemours.org

 
General Orthopedics
Laura Kline, MSW

(302) 651-4575
lkline@nemours.org

 
General Pediatrics
2A
Lee Lucas, LCSW

(302) 651-4235
llucas@nemours.org

3E
Jennifer Fenstermacher, LCSW

(302) 651-4236
jfenster@nemours.org

3F
Jennifer Fenstermacher, LCSW

(302) 651-4236
jfenster@nemours.org

Jessalyn Lewis, LSW

(302) 651-4233
jelewis@nemours.org

 
General Surgery
Laura Kline, MSW

(302) 651-4575
lkline@nemours.org

 
Hematology
Laura Knapp

(302) 651-4550
laknapp@nemours.org

 
HIV/AIDS
Diana Rash, MSW

(302) 651-4571
drash@nemours.org

 
Medical Foster Care Clinic
Alexa Ujlaky, MSW

(302) 298-7075
aujlaky@nemours.org

 
Muscular Dystrophy Clinic
Mike Goldsmith, LCSW

(302) 651-4556
mgoldsmi@nemours.org

 
Neonatal Intensive Care Unit (NICU)
Cortney Jones, MSW

(302) 651-4554
csjones@nemours.org

 
Nephrology
Nancy Gaddis, LCSW

(302) 651-4563
ngaddis@nemours.org

 
Oncology
Laura Knapp

(302) 651-4550
laknapp@nemours.org

Elizabeth Wood, LCSW

(302) 651-4553
ewood@nemours.org

 
Outpatient Neurology
Alexa Ujlaky, MSW

(302) 298-7075
aujlaky@nemours.org

 
Palliative Care
Hugh Gratz, LCSW

(302) 651-6448
jgratz@nemours.org

 
Pediatric Intensive Care Unit (PICU)
Dora Temple, LCSW

(302) 651-4837
dtemple@nemours.org

 
Pulmonology
Johanna Ray, LCSW

(302) 651-4231
jray@nemours.org

 
Rehabilitation
Lee Lucas, LCSW

(302) 651-4235
llucas@nemours.org

 
Rheumatology
Valerie Aptt, LCSW

(302) 651-4503
vaptt@nemours.org

 
Sickle Cell Disease
Diana Rash, MSW

(302) 651-4571
drash@nemours.org

 
Solid Organ Transplant
Beverly Shreve, MSW

(302) 651-4823
bshreve@nemours.org

 
Spina Bifida
Lee Lucas, LCSW

(302) 651-4235
llucas@nemours.org

 
Transition of Care
Cory Nourie, MSS, MLSP

(302) 651-4812
cnourie@nemours.org

 
Urology
Lee Lucas, LCSW

(302) 651-4235
llucas@nemours.org

 
Weight Management
Mike Goldsmith, LCSW

(302) 651-4556
mgoldsmi@nemours.org

Coping With Complex Conditions

To learn more, check out these articles from Nemours’ KidsHealth.org (the most-visited website in the world devoted to children’s health):

Contact Us

Social Work

Department of Patient and Family Services
Nemours/Alfred I. duPont Hospital for Children

Phone: (302) 651-4230 or (302) 651-4232
Fax: (302) 651-5066