MIS-C

Skip Navigation
Back to top
Coronavirus

A serious complication of COVID-19: Multisystem Inflammatory Syndrome in Children (MIS-C)


Multisystem Inflammatory Syndrome in Children (MIS-C) is a serious condition and requires immediate medical care. If you have a patient with suspected MIS-C, Nemours is prepared to help. We’ve cared for children with MIS-C and our specialists have been sought-after experts on national and international media, including NBC , CNN and the BBC .

What should you watch out for?

MIS-C causes symptoms that are due to inflammation (irritation, pain, swelling) throughout the body. We are learning more every day about how these symptoms are related to the COVID-19 infection.

Symptoms seen in kids who have MIS-C include:

  • a fever that lasts longer than 24 hours

AND any of these 

  • belly pain
  • vomiting or diarrhea
  • a rash
  • red, cracked lips
  • red eyes
  • swelling of the hands or feet
  • joint pain
  • dizziness
  • vision problems
  • a headache
  • looking pale
  • extreme fatigue

Encourage parents to call you promptly if their child has any of these symptoms. Children and teens with this inflammatory syndrome may get worse quickly. Parents should bring their child to the ER right away if their child looks very sick, has trouble breathing, has chest pain, or is very sleepy or confused.

Physician Support Contacts


Our physician liaison teams are here to support you. Please contact your representative with any questions.

Delaware Valley

Suzanne Cerbus

Suzanne Cerbus

Physician Liaison Manager, Delaware Valley
Southeastern Pennsylvania: Bucks, Chester, Delaware, Lancaster, Montgomery and Philadelphia counties in Pennsylvania.
(302) 373-2348
suzanne.cerbus@nemours.org

 

margie kandra

Margie Kandra

Delaware/Maryland: New Castle, Kent and Sussex Counties in Delaware, as well as Cecil, Kent, Queen Anne, Talbot, Caroline, Dorchester, Wicomico, Worcester and Somerset counties in Maryland.
(302) 353-0288
margie.kandra@nemours.org

Joan Hess

Joan Hess

South New Jersey: Atlantic, Burlington, Camden, Cape May, Cumberland, Gloucester, Ocean and Salem counties in New Jersey.
(609) 977-0539
joan.hess@nemours.org

Florida

Lisa Howell

Lisa Howell

Physician Liaison Manager, Florida
Representing: Hardee, Highlands, Hillsborough, Osceola and Polk counties.
(407) 470-9504
lisa.howell@nemours.org

Stephanie Murry

Stephanie Murry

Representing: Lake, North Orange, Seminole and Volusia counties.
(407) 259-1376
stephanie.murry@nemours.org


Cheryl McGraw

Representing: South Georgia to North Florida
(904) 239-1553
cheryl.mcgraw@nemours.org

Amy Lowers

Amy Lowers

Representing: Brevard, Indian River, Martin and South Orange counties.
(407) 271-3591
amy.lowers@nemours.org

Amanda Bunsee

Amanda Bunsee

Representing: Nemours Children's Primary Care, Nemours Children's Urgent Care, Nemours Fetal Care Center
(407) 490-7638
amanda.bunsee@nemours.org


Elisabeth Kilcawley

Representing: North West Florida, South Alabama, Tallahassee and Valdosta, GA
(850) 281-2350
elisabeth.kilcawley@nemours.org


If you are a Nemours Affiliate and you have questions about our current operations or patient care plans, please contact a member of our team

Delaware Valley

Mark Ogino

Mark Ogino, MD 

mark.ogino@nemours.org

Emily Burrell

Emily Burrell 

emily.burrell@nemours.org

Mary Donar

Mary Donar Reale 

mary.reale@nemours.org

Florida


Jane Ierardi, MD

jane.ierardi@nemours.org

 


Noelle Marcelino

noelle.marcelino@nemours.org

 


Al Torres, MD

al.torres@nemours.org

 

Vonda Sexton

Vonda Sexton 

vonda.sexton@nemours.org