Skip to Content on Nemours.org

A Serious Complication of COVID-19: MIS-C

Multisystem Inflammatory Syndrome in Children (MIS-C)

Multisystem inflammatory syndrome in children (MIS-C) is a serious condition and requires immediate medical care. If you have a patient with suspected MIS-C, Nemours Children's can help. We’ve cared for children with MIS-C and our specialists have been sought-after experts on national and international media, including NBC and BBC.

What should you watch out for?

MIS-C causes symptoms that result from inflammation (irritation, pain, swelling) throughout the body. We are learning more every day about how these symptoms are related to the COVID-19 infection.

Symptoms of MIS-C include:

  • Fever that lasts longer than 24 hours

AND any of these 

  • Belly pain
  • Vomiting or diarrhea
  • Rash
  • Red, cracked lips
  • Red eyes
  • Swelling of the hands or feet
  • Joint pain
  • Dizziness
  • Vision problems
  • Headache
  • Looking pale
  • Extreme fatigue

Encourage parents to call you promptly if their child has any of these symptoms. Children and teens with this inflammatory syndrome may worsen quickly.

Parents should bring their child to the emergency department right away if their child looks very sick, has trouble breathing, has chest pain, or is very sleepy or confused.

Nemours Physician Liaisons

Your Nemours physician liaison can help you navigate patient care during the COVID-19 pandemic. We can answer questions about our policies and procedures, and connect you to the latest COVID-19 guidance and information. We work with you to provide the best possible care to your pediatric patients.

Find Your Physician Liaison

 

Nemours Affiliate Contacts

If you are a Nemours affiliate and you have questions about our current operations or patient care plans, please contact a member of our team.

 

Delaware Valley

Mark Ogino, MD 
mark.ogino@nemours.org

Emily Burrell 
emily.burrell@nemours.org

Mary Donar Reale 
mary.reale@nemours.org

 

Florida

Jane Ierardi, MD
jane.ierardi@nemours.org

Noelle Marcelino
noelle.marcelino@nemours.org

Al Torres, MD
al.torres@nemours.org

Vonda Sexton 
vonda.sexton@nemours.org