Social Work

Social workers are at the very core of family-centered care at Nemours. Our social workers understand and have unique training in helping and providing therapeutic support to patients and families during an illness, a surgery or procedure, or confronting a new diagnosis. Social workers play an integral role in the medical team, supporting families in conversations with their medical providers and in managing the emotional toll of a difficult illness or diagnosis. Social workers also assist families in preparing for discharge and connecting to community agencies and resources.

What We Do

How We Can Help

Social workers are mental health providers trained to evaluate and address each family’s unique psychosocial needs. Help starts with your social worker talking to you about your immediate needs and concerns. With this information, your social worker is better equipped to address issues like:

  • therapeutic support and counseling with a new or existing diagnosis and hospitalization, and communication with your child’s medical team
  • community resource questions and needs such as transportation, language services, therapy services outside of Nemours and disease-specific support
  • financial concerns
  • information on government program such as WIC, Medicaid, SNAP and Social Security
  • help with communicating with school or employer, or finding an advocate
  • if you or your child are feeling unsafe
  • assistance finding a medical equipment or home health agency
  • housing concerns and food insecurity
  • experiencing a mental health crisis
  • compassionate care during end of life

Services We Provide

 
Case Management

Providing ongoing needs assessment, service coordination, information and referrals, consultation regarding custody and consent issues, and transition to adult care for kids with chronic conditions and complex illnesses.

 
Discharge Planning

Coordinating your child’s home health care and home equipment needs, providing referrals/placement in residential facilities, coordinating ambulance transportation and Medicaid transportation providers, referrals to and coordination with community services, and assisting with school services.

 
Crisis Intervention

Helping your family cope with trauma, death, or a life-threatening/serious diagnosis by orienting you with the hospital and our services, mobilizing your support system, and providing end-of-life assistance. In cases of child abuse or domestic violence, we can help coordinate safe discharge with outside agencies.

 
Counseling & Support

Helping your family cope with trauma, death, or a life-threatening/serious diagnosis by orienting you with the hospital and our services, mobilizing your support system, and providing end-of-life assistance. In cases of child abuse or domestic violence, we can help coordinate safe discharge with outside agencies.

 
Community Liaison Services

Helping your family secure emergency assistance, identify state and federal programs, and access nonprofit services as needed.

 
Community Advocacy

Coordinating services with community agencies, schools, and insurance companies, serving as board members of local
non-profit organizations, and impacting government policies and public awareness about pediatric health care issues. Our social workers also inform children and families of their health care rights and responsibilities.

 
Support Groups

Establishing and assisting onsite support groups for parents
and youth.

Meet the Team

Our Social Work Team

Our social workers will do whatever it takes to improve the emotional well-being of your child and your family. We’re specially trained to assess the overall psychosocial functioning of patients and families — and we’re assigned to specific areas of medicine and specific children, so we’re familiar with what you’re going through.

Jodie Puzio-Bungard, MSW
Director of Social Work, Patient Relations and Escorts, and Language Services
(302) 651-5044
jodie.puzio-bungard@nemours.org

Lee Lucas, LCSW
Patient and Family Services Clinical Manager
(302) 298-7525
lee.lucas@nemours.org

David Gregory, LCSW
Patient and Family Services Clinical Manager
(302) 298-7075
david.gregory@nemours.org

Dora Temple, LCSW
Social Work Supervisor, Independent Living Donor Advocate
(302) 651-4837
dora.temple@nemours.org

Alethea (Lisa) Thomas
Administrative Assistant
(302) 651-4230
alethea.thomas@nemours.org

Evenings and Weekends

Laura Boyer, MSW

(302) 651-4173
laura.boyer@nemours.org

Ray Hendricks, MSW

(302) 651-4558
e.hendricks@nemours.org

Richard Houseal, LCSW

richard.houseal@nemours.org 

Cortney Jones, LCSW

(302) 651-5452
cortney.jones@nemours.org


Social Work Department Listing

Valerie Aptt, LCSW
Orthopedics, Cerebral Palsy Center, Rheumatology
(302) 651-4503
valerie.aptt@nemours.org 

Hope Bleyer, MSW
Pediatric Intensive Care Unit
(302) 651-4806
hope.bleyer@nemours.org

Laura Boyer, MSW
Nephrology, Evenings and Weekends
(302) 651-4173
laura.boyer@nemours.org

Erin Butler, MSW
Pulmonology
(302) 651-4231
erin.butler@nemours.org

Shannon Davis, LSW
Neonatal Intensive Care Unit
(302) 298-7469
shannon.davis@nemours.org 

Emily Delaplane, LCSW
Cardiac Center
(302) 651-6634
emily.delaplane@nemours.org

Bailey DeLong, MSW
Neurology, Downs Syndrome Clinic
(302) 651-5212
bailey.delong@nemours.org

Steve Fratterelli, MSW
Nemours Deptford, New Jersey
steve.fratterelli@nemours.org 

Denise Fuller, MS
General Pediatrics
(302) 651-4236
denise.fuller@nemours.org

Gabrielle Gordon, LSW
Orthopedics, Neuromuscular Clinic
(302) 651-4575
elle.gordon@nemours.org

Sara Henao, MSW
Solid Organ Transplant and Urology
(302) 651-4823
sh0083@nemours.org

Ray Hendricks, MSW
Evenings and Weekends
(302) 651-4558
e.hendricks@nemours.org

Leah Heyel, LCSW
Neonatal Intensive Care Unit
(302) 651-8454
leah.heyel@nemours.org

Richard Houseal, LCSW
Evenings and Weekends
richard.houseal@nemours.org

Cortney Jones, LCSW
Evenings and Weekends
(302) 651-5452
cortney.jones@nemours.org

Siobhan Joseph, LSW
Gastroenterology
(302) 651-4233
siobhan.joseph@nemours.org

Tara Kalamchi, LSW
Nemours Center for Cancer and Blood Disorders
(302) 651-4550
tara.kalamchi@nemours.org

Jenifer Keller, LCSW
Cystic Fibrosis, Pulmonology, Organ Donor Program
(302) 651-5043
jenifer.keller@nemours.org

Lauren Kirn, LSW
Endocrinology, Weight Management
(302) 651-4556
lauren.kirn@nemours.org

Jennifer Macaulay, LSW
Emergency Department and CARE Team
(302) 651-4255
jennifer.macaulay@nemours.org

Katie Marks, BSW
Nemours Center for Cancer and Blood Disorders, Social Work Navigator
(302) 651-6878
katie.marks@nemours.org

Kidian Martinez, LCSW
Adolescent Medicine, Foster Care Clinic
(302) 298-7530
kidian.martinez@nemours.org

Cory Nourie, MSS
Transition Program
(302) 377-0565
cory.nourie@nemours.org

Diana Rash-Ellis, LSW
Nemours Center for Cancer and Blood Disorder, HIV
(302) 651-4571
diana.rashellis@nemours.org

Laura Ryan, LSW
Trauma Program
(302) 651-5454
laura.ryan@nemours.org

Carrie Sewell Roberts, LCSW
Swank Autism Center, Developmental Medicine
(302) 651-6680
carrie.sewellroberts@nemours.org

Briana Smith, MSW
Swank Autism Center, Developmental Medicine
(302) 651-4563
briana.smith@nemours.org

Alexa Ujlaky, LSW
Rehabilitation Program
(302) 651-4235
alexa.ujlaky@nemours.org

Claudia Van Lenten, LCSW
General Pediatrics
(302) 651-4550
claudia.vanlenten@nemours.org

Margaret Volk, MSW
Nemours Center for Cancer and Blood Disorders
(302) 651-4554
margaret.volk@nemours.org

Camile Walker, LCSW
Nephrology, Cleft Palate Program, Cochlear Implant Program, Gender Wellness, Evenings and Weekends
(302) 651-4558
camile.walker@nemours.org

Lisa Wood, LCSW
Nemours Center for Cancer and Blood Disorders, Psychosocial Service Coordinator
(302) 651-4553
elizabeth.wood@nemours.org

Kate Yoder, LCSW
Palliative Care and Bereavement
(302) 651-6448
kate.yoder@nemours.org

Helpful Information

Coping With Complex Conditions

To learn more, check out these articles from Nemours’ KidsHealth.org (the most-visited website in the world devoted to children’s health):

Contact Us

Social Work

Department of Patient and Family Services
Nemours/Alfred I. duPont Hospital for Children

Phone: (302) 651-4230

Fax: (302) 651-5066